Introduction University of Hanoi
On the left at No. 19 Le Thanh Tong, the former l’Universite d’lndochine, completed in 1927, is now part of University of Hanoi .
When Ernest Hebrard first arrived in Hanoi in 1923, his colleagues, Charles Lacollonge, chief of service and his assistant, Paul Sabrie, had already sent a proposal, had it approved by the governor general and the foundations laid for the university building. Notwithstanding, riding on his Prix de Rome, Hebrard imposed himself on the team, stopped construction and ordered the team to research Asian architectural features. At this point, he looked towards models of empire, beginning with the most prestigious of that era, the imperial palace of the Forbidden City
of Beijing.As a result, a timid.
As a result, a timid Sinisation of the building took place: the flared canopy of the drum of the cupola, the double roofs over the porch and a lantern reflecting the curves of the crown of a stupa, the squared angularity of the parapet an exact copy of those in China.
Nevertheless, the revised drawings still carried more than a trace of the initial design inspired by eighteenth-century France: the height of reception spaces, the immense dome and its lantern, the arches, the corridors and the classical facade: But the design also shows Hebrard’s intense determinations having become officially director of the Central Service of Architecture and Urbanism in 1923, to create what would later become known as Style d’lndochine.
Just opposite the University is Ly Thuong Kiet. Two city blocks along this street, I slip into the former Splendid Hotel fora look at the romantic, indeed splendid, wooden stairway. Now the Hoa Binh Hotel, it was built by the French in the thirties.Despite the sudden intrusion of modern high-rise buildings here.
University of Hanoi
Developing of University of Hanoi
Despite the sudden intrusion of modern high-rise buildings here and there, the east-west streets of this quarter still retain a good many old French villas. Continuing along Ly Thong Kiet, opposite the Melia Hotel at No. 59 is a grand villa, now premises of the Vietnam Atomic Energy Commission; the Art Deco villas at Nos. 65 and 65A are now occupied by the Cuban Embassy. Just near University of Hanoi on the left, is a narrow lane leading to a market
Just near here on the left, is a narrow lane leading to a market selling fruit and vegetables and if you look for its “sides” of dog meat. It is called the 19th December Market Vietnamese Revolution officially began, During 1946-47, the lane was used to bury dead Resistance fighters. Their bodies have now been moved, but it is said that the stall keepers still burn incense in their memory.
Hope that you see the information of University of Hanoi effectively!